Product: Pack & Ship

Article Link: http://help.truecommerce.com/en/articles/5914876-pack-ship-overview-of-user-security

Permissions control access to Pack & Ship and functions within the application. Each customer implements a security model that works for them. Below are settings specific to the Pack & Ship application. For information about overall Foundry platform settings, click here.

Permissions

Settings > Security > Users and Roles > Users > Choose a User > Authorizations > Pack and Ship 4.3 > Permissions > Custom

Allow Add Order Item

We will allow you to add another item to the order. If deny or not specified, you can’t add items to the shipment. Example: There's an order for 2 ear buds. You want to add a free charger to it.

Allow Fast Ship

Fast Ship + Quick Ship. This turns the Quick Ship button on or off. You might want someone to go through all the steps instead of using Quick Ship.

Allow Pack All

Enables/disables the pack all button as well as the double chevron. If disabled, it would only allow you to pack one item at a time.

Allow mixing orders in package

It's common for businesses to combine multiple orders on the same shipment such as retail partners who receive 20 orders from Target. You would pack all orders on one shipment. You might label them differently. Target says it's okay to put them on the same shipment, just make sure every order is in a separate box. Consolidation rules should also be in place to say what conditions must exist for this to occur.

Allow mixing orders in pallet

Same as above but with pallets

Allow partial packing

Let's say somebody ordered 10 widgets. I have 9 in stock. If this says deny, I can't finish that shipment. I can't print labels, etc. until I have all 10. I would have to cancel or save for later until I find that 10th item. Your business process might allow a supervisor to authorize it so for their user/role, this would say allow.

Enable Packing Arrows

This will turn the arrows off entirely. It would force a user to scan the product or type an item's information. This forces improved accuracy.

Enable Shipment Import

Reserved for TrueCommerce employee use only.

Enable XML import/export

Reserved for TrueCommerce employee use only.

Override Freight Cost

If this setting is set to allow, you can override the freight cost. Sometimes you may want to type in a freight cost. Maybe you have a quote from an LTL provider and Pack & Ship isn’t doing estimates for you. Or your install might not be integrated with the rating engine.

Override Void Status

Let's say you try to void a shipment after a certain amount of time has passed. Often the carrier will reject your void request. Maybe the carrier has already picked up the package or the status timed out (sat in the facility for a week). In some situations you want to be able to void the shipment. If you can't void it, you won't be able to do anything with it. A supervisor might have this permission to be able to void the shipment and then the end user can re-pack it.


Modules

Settings > Security > Users and Roles > Users > Choose a User > Authorizations > P&S 4.2 > Modules

Pack & Ship uses modules for a few important pieces; most notably carriers. Every carrier you purchase is a module (UPS is one module, FedEx is a module). These settings determine whether you are going to use certain carriers.

Pack & Ship has also tied certain value added functions to modules such as the ability to use our cartonization feature.

Examples: Maybe a user or role is only allowed to ship certain carriers. Or maybe cartonization is something only certain users/roles can do.


Identity Claims

Settings > Users and Roles > Users > Choose a User > Identity Claims > Pack and Ship > General

Location

A campus or physical address that contains one or more shippers. Could be different warehouses and you want to separate what data people can see and interact with.

The locations entered in this location field indicate which records the user/role can view.

Orders screen - If there's a location listed on the orders screen, we will limit that user/role to only orders for that location. That user/role will also see orders that don't have a location specified.

Shipping screen - This user/role will only see shipments for the location specified. In the Shipper drop-down field on a shipment, the user/role will only be able to choose shippers that belong to that location.

Close Carriers - This user/role would only see manifests for shippers belonging to that location.

Lot Expiry Date

Determines if this user/role has the ability to capture the lot expiry date on the lot entry screen.

Shipper

For most customers this is the same as location; however, for some this is a way to be more granular in your business model. You might have multiple locations but within each location you might have different cost centers or separate departments and you want to split up the billing. This would be done by creating multiple shippers.

Often this indicates a financial relationship such as a carrier. You would create different carrier accounts in UPS for each cost center. You would create multiple shipping profiles that match those.

I might have some shipments go to separate entities in a location; this is a way to separate the invoices I get from freight spend.

rev: 4/11/22

Did this answer your question?